Parsec Ink is coordinating submissions to both the Parsec Short Story Contest and Triangulation: Extinction. Please be sure you know which entity you are submitting to. The Parsec Short Story Contest is curated by the Parsec program branch and Triangulation is curated by Parsec Ink.

Theme, word count, and deadlines are different for each.

24th Annual Parsec SF/Fantasy/Horror Short Story Contest   --

The theme for the 2020 contest is: Forging! Any interpretation of the word is acceptable, but must be integral to the story in some manner! 

Contest Open: January 1st 2020 and closes April 15th 2020. There is no fee to enter, and all entrants will be notified of the results by June 15th.

Word count for all entries: No minimum, no more than 3500 words

Genre: All stories must be of the Science Fiction, Fantasy, of Horror genres

How to submit

Electronic submissions will be acceptable through Submittable (Opens January 1st 2020)

Stories must be original, unpublished, and unsold to any other market. Manuscripts should be in standard manuscript format, double-spaced, and written in either Courier or Times New Roman font. Acceptable formats include .doc, .docx, and .rtf. For an example of standard manuscript format, see:

Prizes and Eligibility: The contest is open to non-professional writers (those who have not met eligibility requirements for SFWA or equivalent: sale of a novel or sale of 3 stories to a large-circulation publication (

Previous first-place winners and current contest coordinators are ineligible to enter.

The winning story will be the one that most effectively uses the contest theme as a key element. First-place receives $200 and publication in the 2019 Confluence program book ( Second-place receives $100 and third-place receives $50.

Submission to the contest implies consent for publication, but all rights revert immediately to the author upon publication. Coordinators/Readers screen the entries and the seven best submissions are then read by the judges. Decisions of the judges and coordinators are final.

A maximum of 2 submissions is allowed. Submit each one separately.

Judges:   Rebecca Roanhorse is a NYTimes bestselling and Nebula, Hugo and Locus Award-winning speculative fiction writer and the recipient of the 2018 Astounding (Campbell) Award for Best New Writer. Her novel Trail of Lightning (Book 1 in the Sixth World Series) won the Locus Award for Best First Novel and is a Nebula, Hugo and World Fantasy finalist. It was also selected as an Amazon, B&N, Library Journal, and NPR Best Books of 2018, among others. Book 2 in the Sixth World Series, Storm of Locusts, has received starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly and Booklist and has been named an Amazon, Powell’s, and Audible Best of 2019. Her novel, Resistance Reborn, is part of Star Wars: Journey to The Rise of Skywalkerand a USA Today and NYTimes bestseller. Her middle grade novel Race to the Sun for the Rick Riordan Present’s imprint will release in January of 2020, and an epic Fantasy novel will follow in late 2020.   Her short fiction can be found in Apex Magazine, New Suns, The Mythic Dream, and various other anthologies. Her non-fiction can be found in Uncanny Magazine, Strange Horizons, and How I Resist: Activism and Hope for a New Generation (Macmillan).   She lives in Northern New Mexico with her husband, daughter, and pups. She drinks a lot of black coffee. Find more at and on Twitter at @RoanhorseBex.

Daniel H. Wilson is a Cherokee citizen and author of the New York Times bestselling Robopocalypse and its sequel Robogenesis, as well as How to Survive a Robot Uprising, The Clockwork Dynasty, and Amped. He earned a PhD in Robotics from Carnegie Mellon University, as well as Masters degrees in Machine Learning and Robotics. His latest novel is an authorized stand-alone sequel to Michael Crichton’s classic The Andromeda Strain, called The Andromeda Evolution. Wilson lives in Portland, Oregon.

Cat Rambo lives and writes in the Pacific  Northwest. Her most recent books are Hearts of Tabat (novel), Neither  Here Nor There (collection), and Moving From Idea to Draft (nonfiction).  She has been nominated for the Nebula, World Fantasy, and Endeavour  awards and is a two-term President of the Science Fiction & Fantasy  Writers of America. She runs the popular online writing school The Rambo  Academy for Wayward Writers. Find more about her at 

Parsec Ink